top of page
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Writer's pictureBinti Gurung

Steamed Makai (Maize)


Just as I was beginning to write this post, my mum called to say, ‘I have been speaking to bajai in Pokhara and she has just been harvesting some maize. Did you know in some places maize is planted three times a year.’ In the hilly regions of Nepal, they are commonly consumed as afternoon snacks or khaja. The timmur, salt and fresh chilli combination to lather it makes for a delicious combination.

I have tried it as roasted (poleko makai) over firewood and they can be seen in plenty around the city most often sold by the street vendors. Last year, traveling to northern region, in Darapani my aunt made some one evening, and the left over made for a good snack on the way back to the city the next day.

It is also in season now. A few days ago, on a stop to get my groceries, I got some from a street seller.

Method

· Remove the husk and the silk.

· In a pressure cooker, add some water and cook on medium heat. Give a few whistle.


Serve with timmur, salt and fresh chilli ko achar.

Usaneko Makai


Travel Snack



52 views0 comments
bottom of page